Home   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Outstanding Member Award

American Wine Society 2018 Outstanding AWS Member Award

John Hames 




John Hames, right,  accepts the
2018 Outstanding Member Award at the

AWS National Conference on Nov. 2 from outgoing AWS

president, Kristin Kraft.


For distinguishing himself as a volunteer and executive of the American Wine Society, John Hames earned the 2018 Outstanding Member Award at the organization's 51st National Conference in Buffalo last year. 

John began his membership in the AWS in 1995 and soon became chair of the Dayton Chapter going onto serve as Regional Vice President for Southern Ohio from 2003 to 2008   In 2007, he brought greater professionalism and consistency to the national conference. As the AWS hit a dark, difficult period in 2010, the board of directors recruited him to serve as executive director and began to reform the national office operations and finances.

John continues to serve on both the conference committee and as AWS historian

One would be hard pressed to find anyone who has had a greater overall impact on the American Wine Society.  “Everyone needs something to be passionate about and for me, that’s wine.  AWS has allowed me to make great friends who share this passion and given me the opportunity to continue learning about wine along with them.   Whatever I was able to give to AWS, I received much more in return.” 



Past Outstanding Member Award Recipients

Margaret Jackisch, 1976
Ed Van Dyne, 1991
Alcide (Al) L. Porell, 2006
Aldus Fogelsanger, 1977
Alton L. Long, 1992
Robert (Bob) Miller, 2007
J. Edward Schmidt, 1978
Linda M. King, 1993
Willis Parker, 2008
Albert W. Laubengayer, 1979
J. Randy Hurteau, 1994
Alexis Hartung, 2009
John McGrew, 1980
Thoms C. Iezzi, 1995
Tom Castronovo 2010
Philip F. Jackisch, 1981
Hal Kohn, Jr., 1996
Dave Barber, 2011
Richard J. Cooper, 1982
John and Anne Stavisky, 1997
Joyce Vecchiolli, 2012
George McRory, 1983
Matt and Carol Kristofik, 1998
Samuel D. Streiff 2013
Elmer S. Phillips, 1984
Raymond A. Hartung, Jr., 1999
Les Sperling 2014
Marvin J. Yiengst, 1985
Eugene J. Spazini, 2000
Pam Davey 2015
Robert T. Olsen, 1986
John (Mick) Hasson, 2001
 Tom King 2016
Richard D. Scheer, 1987
Tao Porchon-Lynch, 2002
 Peter Cisek, 2017
Jane H. Moulton, 1988
George Wilson, 2003
 John Hames, 2018 
Karl A. Northrup, 1989
Frederic Butcher, 2004
Elizabeth M. Lincoln, 1990
Kenneth P. Brewer, 2005

more Calendar

Wine Judge Certification Program Year 1 Spring

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal