Home   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Award of Merit

American Wine Society 2018 Award of Merit Recipient

Paul Wagner


  AWS President Kristin  (left) presents the 2018 Award of Merit

 at the AWS National Conference  to Paul Wagner 

 Paul Wagner received the 2018 Award of Merit at the AWS National Conference Nov. 2. Paul  is such a fixture at AWS conferences, that it would be easy to overlook his impact on the broader wine industry as a marketer, author and educator. AWS members know Paul and Balzac Communications staff and clients from national conferences where they generously share their knowledge and wine.

Since founding Balzac Communications in the early 1990s, Paul has been a pioneer in wine marketing, changing the way the wine industry and wine consumers think about wine. He advanced strong, and not always popular, opinions.  He was lead author of the text “Wine Marketing & Sales,” that has become de rigueur for wine industry aspirants. Paul’s newest books “Artisan Public Relations” from Board and Bench Publishing, and “Wine Sales and Distribution” from Rowman and Littlefield, are slated for release in 2018.

While Paul has retired from running Balzac, he continues to teach at Napa Valley College and in Barcelona at the WinTour Wine Tourism MBA program.


Past AWS Award of Merit Recipients


Konstantin Frank, 1971 Hudson Cattell, 1991 Gordon Murchie 2011
Charles Fournier, 1972 Andrew C. Rice, 1992 Jim Bernau 2012
Leon D. Adams, 1973 Vernon L. Singleton, 1993 Dick Naylor 2013
Willard B. Robinson, 1974 Lucie T. Morton, 1994 Gina Gallo 2014
Philip and Jocelyn Wagner, 1975 Alex and Louisa Hargrave, 1995 Chuck Wagner 2015
Maynard A. Amerine, 1976 Warren Winiarski, 1996

Peter Mondavi Sr.


G. Hamilton Mowbray, 1977 Arnulf W. Esterer, 1997

The Frank Family


Harold P. Olmo, 1978 Vincent Petrucci, 1998

Paul Wagner 2018


George W.B. Hostetter, 1979 Justin Morris, 1999  
Andre Tchelistcheff, 1980 Ann C. Noble, 2000  
Alexander Brailow, 1981 Peter M.F. Sichel, 2001  
Robert Mondavi, 1982 Marian Baldy, 2002  
Louis P. Martini, 1983 Sharron McCarthy, 2003  
Douglas and Marlene Moorhead, 1984 Jonathan Newman, 2004  
James F. Gallander, 1985 Miljenko "Mike” Grgich, 2005  
Philip Hiaring, 1986 Angel Nardone, 2006  
Richard P. Vine, 1987 Jacques Recht, 2007  
Harriet Lembeck, 1988 Kent Rosemblum, 2008  
Charles M. Crawford, 1989 Zelma Long, 2009  
Nelson J. Shaulis, 1990 Eric & Lee Miller 2010  
more Calendar

Wine Judge Certification Program Year 1 Spring

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal