Home   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Award of Merit

American Wine Society 2015 Award of Merit Recipient


AWS President Frank Aquilino (right)
presents the 2015 Award of Merit to
Chuck Wagner at the AWS National
Conference on November 7, 2015

In recognition of his lifelong dedication to wine, the American Wine Society celebrates the achievements of Chuck Wagner by presenting to him its Award of Merit for 2015.


Chuck’s involvement in wine started in 1971 when he joined his parents, Charlie and Lorna Belle Wagner in creating Caymus Vineyards. From the Wagner’s fist vintage in 1972, the focus has been on excellence. They created a wine which has become the signature example of what a Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon should be. Caymus Special Selection is the only wine to be honored by receiving the Wine Spectator “Wine of the Year” award twice, first for the 1984 vintage and again for the 1990 vintage.

Caymus Vineyards has always been about family. Charlie, Lorna Bell and Chuck worked over thirty years building Caymus Cabernet Sauvignon. Today, Chuck’s daughter and two sons have joined the family business and expanded it to create the Wagner Family of Wines.

In appreciation for his lifelong devotion to both wine and family, the American Wine Society honors Chuck Wagner with its highest award.. 


November 7, 2015


Past AWS Award of Merit Recipients


Konstantin Frank, 1971 Hudson Cattell, 1991 Gordon Murchie 2011
Charles Fournier, 1972 Andrew C. Rice, 1992 Jim Bernau 2012
Leon D. Adams, 1973 Vernon L. Singleton, 1993 Dick Naylor 2013
Willard B. Robinson, 1974 Lucie T. Morton, 1994 Gina Gallo 2014
Philip and Jocelyn Wagner, 1975 Alex and Louisa Hargrave, 1995 Chuck Wagner 2015
Maynard A. Amerine, 1976 Warren Winiarski, 1996  
G. Hamilton Mowbray, 1977 Arnulf W. Esterer, 1997  
Harold P. Olmo, 1978 Vincent Petrucci, 1998  
George W.B. Hostetter, 1979 Justin Morris, 1999  
Andre Tchelistcheff, 1980 Ann C. Noble, 2000  
Alexander Brailow, 1981 Peter M.F. Sichel, 2001  
Robert Mondavi, 1982 Marian Baldy, 2002  
Louis P. Martini, 1983 Sharron McCarthy, 2003  
Douglas and Marlene Moorhead, 1984 Jonathan Newman, 2004  
James F. Gallander, 1985 Miljenko "Mike” Grgich, 2005  
Philip Hiaring, 1986 Angel Nardone, 2006  
Richard P. Vine, 1987 Jacques Recht, 2007  
Harriet Lembeck, 1988 Kent Rosemblum, 2008  
Charles M. Crawford, 1989 Zelma Long, 2009  
Nelson J. Shaulis, 1990 Eric & Lee Miller 2010  
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal